top of page
Search

What A Summer!

Updated: Sep 14, 2018

And the adventures begin...

The Eiffel Tower at night

You know how they used to begin the school year when you were in grade school? You used to always have to write a paper about "what I did on my summer vacation." Well, boy, this year I could really write a doozy!


You see, we--my sister and I--didn't have one adventure...we didn't have two adventures...we had three adventures that pretty much filled our entire summer! Actually, we're kind of famous now; I mean, we did get interviewed on network television earlier this summer; right after our second adventure.


Perhaps I'm getting ahead of myself. Let me start at the beginning.


My name is Pat Flaugherty (think flair-tee). Patrick J. Flaugherty, to be precise. The "j" stands for John. One of my Mom's co-workers suggested I write this blog. He thinks it would be a good way for us to share a little bit about our adventures.


So, I'm sitting down to write this, not even sure what I want to say, but I know it will be good practice for me, since I do want to become a journalist when I graduate from college.


So, let me give you a little background about myself and I'll let that set the stage. As I said, my name is Pat Flaugherty, and my sister and I live with my Mom in Temple City. My sister, Patty, and I are fraternal twins, and we both will be seniors in high school this year. I think we're pretty ordinary, yet lately, some of the things that have been happening are pretty extraordinary, and so, that's what I want to write about.


Right at the beginning of summer, my sister and I had the opportunity to fly to France with my friend Bob and his Dad. Bob's Dad owns an air freight service and flies all over the place, both domestic and international. Bob's flown with him many times before.


Right after we found out about the trip, Patty ran into an old friend of the family who actually has a relative in France, so we got the opportunity to look up her relative while we were there. And that was where all the crazy stuff started happening.


It all started with this antique doll, and then there were some jewel thieves, and then a ghostly knight haunting the castle where we were staying, and then I got shot, and Patty got kidnapped, and...


It's kind of a lot to take in, all at once. Mr. McDonald--my Mom's co-worker--asked us if he could write a book about what happened to us. That sounds pretty weird to me, but I thought, if he wants to try it, why not? And he said he would send me the first few chapters of his book which will tell our story, and probably much better than I could anyway. I'm looking forward to seeing what he writes.


Well, it's getting late, so I'll sign off for now, until next time.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page